Remote Learning Information

Important Information Regarding Mandated School Closure

OBR Roadrunner Parents and Guardians:

As of Friday, April 17, Governor Pritzker mandated that in-person instruction in Illinois' school would be suspended for the remainder of the 2019-2020 school year. OBR will continue remote learning for the remainder of the school year.

So here’s what you need to know:

  • There will be NO TEACHERS at school during this time. Teachers will only be in the building for creating learning materials and picking up learning packets.
  • Mr. Miller will be at school every day from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. Please call if you have questions or need anything.
  • Meals will be available to students during the closure through grab and go locations and/or by delivery. You will need to contact the school by 9 am on Tuesday (tomorrow) if you would like your child to have meals every day during this shut-down time. This way we can plan a count for everyday. If you change your mind later, you may still call. You may call or email the office, or text Mrs. Jukes (see contact information below). Meals will consist of lunch and a snack.
    • Meal grab and go sites and pick-up times are as follows:
      • In front of our school building - 10:45 - 11:15 am
      • Students living in Opdyke will have meals delivered.
      • Belle Rive Baptist Church - 12:00-12:30 am
    • If you cannot pick up at any of these sites, please let us know and we will arrange for delivery
  • Teachers will have learning packets for all students which will contain review and enrichment activities. There will also be online activities available. Learning packet exchange will be every Monday for the remainder of the year. Packet exchange will be done in conjunction with lunch delivery/pick-up. Packets may also be returned to school between 8 a.m. and 2 p.m.
  • If your child needs a Chromebook, please contact Mrs. Jukes and we will arrange to get a device to you. If you have questions about any of the activities, please email your child’s teacher.
  • Attendance will be taken daily. Kindergarten through 4th grade students/families should check in with your teacher following the directions your teacher has given. 5th - 8th graders should login to their TeacherEase account and "check-in" daily. Contact will be made from the office to those students who do not check in.
  • Work assigned must be completed to earn a "pass" grade for the 4th quarter. If work is not completed and returned, an "incomplete" will be given and the work must be made up when school returned to in-person instruction.

What information do we need from you:

  • Each teacher MUST have a contact email for each student. If you have more than one child in school or your child has more than one teacher, you may add all of those teachers’ email addresses to the “To:” line.
  • If you need help with anything, including questions, concerns, advice, etc., please contact us. All contact information is below.

It seems information from the State changes frequently. We will do our very best to keep you informed of the changes through SchoolMessenger, Facebook, and email. As always, please call if you have any questions. This is a challenging time for all of you and for all of us at OBR and throughout the State of Illinois. We are here to help you. Please do not hesitate to reach out. We will do our best to help you in any way that we can.

Kindergarten: Mrs. Ellis - tellis@obr5.org

1st Grade: Mrs. Harlan - jharlan@obr5.org

2nd Grade: Mrs. Richardson - arichardson@obr5.org

3rd Grade: Mrs. Walls - awalls@obr5.org

4th Grade: Mrs. Childers - schilders@obr5.org

5th Grade: Mrs. Hanson - vhanson@obr5.org

6-8 ELA: Mrs. Rohr - jrohr@obr5.org

6-8 Math: Mr. Cook - bcook@obr5.org

6-8 Science & History: Mr. Strunk - rstrunk@obr5.org

1-4 special education: Mrs. Dickey - jdickey@obr5.org

5-7 special education: Mr. Harp - jharp@obr5.org

All other questions, concerns:

Nurse Terrie: twilliams@obr5.org 756-2492

Mrs. Jukes: ajukes@obr5.org 756-2312 or 237-3105

Mr. Miller: mmiller@obr5.org 756-2492